How I reignited my first love in gaming

2491924-mortalkombat2gameplay

back in the mid-90s when I was barely 9 years old I remember walking by a store that used to sell Sega Genesis games and they were playing Mortal Kombat II, I could never get it out of my head two Ninjas fighting one of them was freezing the other and the other was using a rope to pull the other toward him, at least I thought it was a rope, I think from that moment my whole life was about perusing that amazement and feeling of pure awe.

I kept on playing fighting games on any console or handheld I got my hands on for the years after that like:

  • Mortal Kombat on Gameboy
    hqdefault
    I didn’t know this game existed but when I did I was hooked, me and my brother spend hundreds of hours playing this game and we burned through a lot of AAA batteries, despite the fact that we just played the tower over and over somehow we really did have a good time and didn’t mind the repetitiveness that came with it.
  • Mortal Kombat 3
    862796_3
    I am well aware of the far superior Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 version but back in the 90s I wasn’t, I played this game for a long time and for some reason the worst MK character (stryker) was my main, maybe because I learned to do his fatality by accident?
  • Street Fighter II
    sf2-s3
    Street Fighter II is a household name, some even call it the greatest fighting game of all time, but coming from all the blood and violence of Mortal Kombat for some reason Street Fighter felt like a step-down but never the less it was very fun and learning most of the combos that were written in the manual that came with the game was really good for its time.
  • Mortal Kombat II
    mk2r32e
    Definitely, the one I played the most, to this day MK2 has one of the best 2D fighting game plays and it is hard to replicate, I think I played this game every day for at least 3 years.

There were other fighting games like Bloody Roar and Tekken 3 that I played but those were my absolute favorites, but after I started playing other kinds of games like RPGs my interest in fighting games slowly withered, by the time Tekken 5 and Mortal Kombat Armageddon I started to care little for fighting games, and since my siblings started developed other interests and stopped playing with me I barely cared to boot those games, as a matter of fact, I think Tekken 5 was the last fighting game I played on PS2, during the same time I was playing another fighting game on DS and it was a Japanese ROM of Jump Superstars , but I did quickly give it up in favor of whatever RPGs came my way back then.

and that was it, for years I didn’t care about fighting games while I saw my old favorite series like MK evolve into something great with the last two entry and also Never Real’s other title Injustice being set in the DC universe which is a favorite of mine, but I never got interested in it, I always knew even if I buy a fighting game I will end up quitting on it after a day and that wasn’t something I wanted to do, until this year.

During March I decided to play something along side Breath of the Wild, I knew I will spend a lot of time in that game and I knew sometimes it might get a bit boring when you play massive games like that, so I bought MKXL and I played a few matches a day and I was having a lot of fun, and this created something in me like a nostalgia feeling for the genre, so I started playing more fighting games, but I decided to play those that I find different and interesting like:

  • ARMS
    arms-1280-3-1496788456606_400w
    When it comes to it Nintendo holds the keys to my gaming heart, I don’t know what is up with their games but I could never get enough of them, and ARMS is one of those new concepts, the game is 3D fighter and uses fighters with arms stretch and boxing each other…..I know it sounds weird you just have to try for yourself, I spend around 50 hours in the game so far and I still play it daily.
  • Mortal Kombat XL
    image
    With Fantastic graphics and controls, MKXL really rains supreme as one of the best health based 2D fighters, it is absolutely fantastic, I have spent somewhere around 50-60 hours in it so far and I have played various modes of it, it is very fun and I am looking into taking my experience to Ranked mode.
  • Super Smash Bros. for 3DS

    Now this was a treat, I bought the 3DS version and during my first match I thought to myself that this will probably end up in my drawer never to be played again and boy I was wrong, as soon as I understood the basic controls which are very different from every other fighting game I fell head over heels in love with this game, I have been playing it for a month and so far I have put over 60 hours in it, one weekend I played it for literally for 10 hours straight and I had to recharge my 3DS twice, I honestly can’t wait for the game to come to Switch so I can play more of it.

So I will keep playing these and I already preordered Pokken Tournament DX on Switch and I look forward to that as well, it is quite amazing how Smash Bros. and MKXL literally took me back to a time when I was 9 years old and I couldn’t wait to try a new move or combo, it is the kind of experience that most people miss out on by presuing just Stories in video games even though they are meant for more than that.

Author: Aza Jabar

☢️

Leave a comment