The Neon Demon (Review)

images
The Neon Demon is directed by Nicolas Winding Refn and it stars Elle Fanning, Jena Malone and Keanu Reeves, it is the story of a 16 year old girl who comes to LA in order to become a model in the highly competitive and ruthless industry of fashion. I personally find the fashion industry to be the most disgusting and pointless world it is basically a place where beautiful people go to have their life force drained by rich bored people so I was hesitant to watch the film at the beginning but I like Refn’s other two films so I decided to give it a go.

The film’s true star is Refn and his cinematographer Natasha Braier, together they create scene that is nothing short of perfection, from the beautiful symbolism in colors like Red, Blue and Purple to play with the lights that really enticed me thought out its two hour run, the visuals is also complimented with the unusual sound track that plays in parts of the film and in parts stops and lets the silence speak. it is the mark of a truly remarkable director to be able to make such film despite the thin plot and to me an uninteresting setting.

screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-12-32-12-pm1118full-the-neon-demon-screenshottheneondemon_en51_en20_pgm_24_hd_169_177_p422hq_amazon_wm904-18661

The most important thing about the film is its third act which sprout a lot controversies and arguments about what the director actually means by them, while I don’t spoil anything in my reviews all I can say about that act is it is not for the faint of heart but if Cannibalism and Necrophile is your type of thing then you are in for a treat, a disgusting and bloody treat.

Verdict : this might be my shortest review yet because there isn’t much to talk about, The Neon Demon is not the kind of film I want to talk about it is a film you need to experience and watch, perhaps you won’t love it I certainly didn’t love it but I liked it enough and enjoyed the visual aspect of it.

Author: Aza Jabar

☢️

Leave a Reply

