The Elder Scrolls Online Beta Impressions (Until Level 5)

Image

Elder Scrolls — Has for the most part being my favorite series, I mean if not my top favorite definitely goes as close as Zelda and Pokemon,  and The Elder Scrolls Online despite how much heat it’s been getting remained my most anticipated game through out 2012, 2013, and now 2014 and I have slowly I have given up on the idea of Skyrim MMO and whatever the actual dream is because lets face it I don’t think even technically Skyrim is possible to go online it is just not possible and lets leave it at that, let us enjoy the Single player Elder Scrolls games as we were meant to enjoy them and we all know that we do enjoy those games like hell alot so why not try something else? why not play as the races we love in the world that we love using similar mechanics? kinda like Final Fantasy Tactics which is not exactly Final Fantasy but it is similar and you can enjoy it like it is, so I played ESO with that mentality and with that my impression begins :

Image

Graphics and Art direction — before I dive too deep in this aspect lets take a look back at Skyrim and Oblivion, they were not THE BEST LOOKING GAMES but the art style of those games made them so pretty to look at that alot of games these days, in my opinion the Sky of Oblivion alone is an example of how far an art style can go just take a look

Image

it is really beautiful and makes you want to stand still and look at it for a while, not mentioning the snow effects of Skyrim and the way the music plays along it is just one of the few reasons why I can just walk around in these games and not care much what I do here is another example

Image

it is haunting if nothing else, and Elder Scrolls Online really shines when it comes to graphics, it has one of the most beautifully crafted environments and beautiful character models and one of the most impressive art designs it is not as ARTISTIC as Guild Wars 2 because they try to remain a realistically looking game as much as possible and they have successfully did that, more over the lighting effects are phenomenal for an MMO at least they look very beautiful, overall the game is the best looking MMO in the market for sure and this is says alot.

Music and Sound — Jeremy Soule did an amazing job with the previous games tracks like this and this are still on my phone and I play it when I go for walks, just makes feel like am still in the game, and ESO is no exception the music and sound design (while a little buggy) is really top notch, and this is I think the first MMO to be fully voiced, and that is going to make you want to talk to NPCs and sit and listen to the quests and not just burn through them and all that are good perks, ESO also has a steller cast of voice actors who makes the game even more impressive, and no surprises here.

Gameplay — While I suggest that you should check out some of the video previews that you can find on this channel to get a better idea of how the game play in ESO works, basically it is %90 regular Elder Scrolls Gameplay and %10 MMO, you have the action bar which you can fill it with attacks and special moves that you unlock by leveling up and the best part of it all is the fact that you can use any item, any weapon or armor anytime you want and that is like the best thing I have ever heard because I am so sick and tired of MMOs telling me that you can’t equip a sword while being a mage or be a stealthy Tank..WHY THE FUCK NOT? well ESO allows you to do all that, the First person view is not the best the series has to offer but the 3rd person is great and very responsive.

Bugs, glitches and Server issues — it was beta so yes the hole thing was very glitchy and buggy, I tried to sell a few items and it went out of the server and sometimes the quest did not finish due to a bug and so on, these are to be expected and am also expecting some glitches after launch also, I don’t know if it was just because of the beta or the Mega Server was lagging sometimes so I am kinda worried about that and we will see what is up with that when the game comes out.

The MMO Concerns — in 2011 I realized that I don’t have MMO experience and as someone who takes gaming very seriously I don’t like to leave a genre out and never try it, so I tried couple of Free-to-Play games and I did like them at the beginning and then I tried a full MMO experience Guild Wars 2 which was amazing, after spending almost 500 hours in it I realized that MMOs are not just a game you play and leave when ever you want, MMOs are almost a part of your life style and the moment you decide to play it you have to understand you are living two lives now and you have to make sure you keep up in both worlds, as someone who is working all the time and also has a very busy social life it is hard to maintain them both and this is what drives me away from most MMOs after a while which brings me to my next thoughts regarding Elder Scrolls Online “How much time I am going to put in?” well for starters I can roll out PvP since I never liked PvP any way, which leaves PvE and Exploration and also I would like to play all the Guilds (know that The Dark Brotherhood and Mages Guild is not going to be available on launch) and also dungeons with friends and that, I would like to be able to play more than on character at least after a while and I do expect to get off the game couple of months after it launches at least for some time and resubscribe to it in the coming years, I do hope however the game will enjoy alot of success which will lead ZeniMax to put in more time and effort in adding more content like they are doing with Guild Wars 2 which I think it is fantastic.

So thus concludes my very first impressions on ESO, know that I deliberately did not talk about the monthly subscription and is it worth it because I was sold on the game long ago and I do not think 15$ a month is alot….for fuck’s sake 15$ will not buy me lunch at a decent restaurant so why is that too much?

Cheers!

Author: Aza Jabar

☢️

Leave a Reply

